Intranet access
Connect with Google Log in
Or

If you don't have a LuxDev email account




I forgot my password

Help

MAE/018
Contribution to the Bloc Smart Africa Fund

Information

Geographical area
Luxembourg

Sector
Various

Implementation period
May 2020 - November 2035
Total duration
186 months

Total budget
5,000,000 EUR
Contribution breakdown
  • Luxembourg Government
    5,000,000 EUR

BLOC Smart Africa is part of a set of six independent impact subfunds grouped under the SDG 500 fund managed by Bamboo Capital Partners (http://www.bamboocp.com/). Each of the six subfunds is dedicated to a particular sector with a specific geographical focus.

In January 2020, Luxembourg announced its intention to invest in the BLOC Smart Africa fund. This contribution is in line with the desire to involve the private sector in a more systematic and strategic way in the achievement of Luxembourg's development objectives.

The BLOC Smart Africa fund is the result of a partnership between Bamboo Capital Partners and Smart Africa (https://smartafrica.org/), a network of 30 African States aiming at creating a single digital market on the African continent. BLOC Smart Africa's investment objective is to accelerate the use of new technologies at the global level with a focus on the African continent in order to contribute to the fight against poverty and address large-scale environmental challenges through more sustainable development, inclusive economic growth and long-term social impact.

It focuses on different sectors, namely financial inclusion and agro-industry, access to clean energy, health care and education. More specifically, the fund looks at areas where innovative technologies can pave the way for new investment opportunities and improve access, affordability and sustainability of essential products and services for low- and middle-income communities in developing markets.

BLOC Smart Africa invests on a priority basis in companies with an operational presence in Africa, without excluding the possibility of investing in other geographical areas in solutions or technologies that are also applicable in Africa.

LuxDev is responsible for the financial management of Luxembourg's contribution to the fund as well as the monitoring of its investment. In this capacity, LuxDev represents the Luxembourg government on the advisory committee of the sub-fund which is responsible for advising the board of directors of the fund on their investment policy.

Accédez à l'intranet
Connect with Google Connexion
Ou

Si vous n'avez pas de compte Mail LuxDev




J'ai oublié mon mot de passe

Aide

MAE/018
Contribution au fonds Bloc Smart Africa

Information

Zone géographique
Luxembourg

Secteur
Divers

Période d'exécution
Mai 2020 - Novembre 2035
Durée totale
186 mois

Budget total
5 000 000 EUR
Répartition des contributions
  • Gouvernement luxembourgeois
    5 000 000 EUR

BLOC Smart Africa fait partie d’un ensemble de six sous-fonds d’impact indépendants regroupés sous le fonds SDG 500 géré par Bamboo Capital Partners (http://www.bamboocp.com/). Chacun des six sous-fonds est dédié à un secteur particulier avec un focus géographie spécifique.

En janvier 2020, le Luxembourg a annoncé son intention d’investir dans le fonds BLOC Smart Africa. Cette contribution s’inscrit dans la volonté d’associer le secteur privé de manière plus systématique et stratégique dans l’atteinte des objectifs de développement de la Coopération luxembourgeoise.

Le fonds BLOC Smart Africa est le résultat d'un partenariat entre Bamboo Capital Partners et Smart Africa (https://smartafrica.org/), un réseau de 30 États africains visant la création d'un marché numérique unique sur le continent africain. L'objectif d'investissement de BLOC Smart Africa est d’accélérer le recours aux nouvelles technologies au niveau global avec un focus sur le continent africain dans le but de contribuer à la lutte contre la pauvreté et d’adresser les défis environnementaux à grande échelle, à travers un développement plus durable, une croissance économique inclusive et un impact social à long terme.

Il se concentre sur différents secteurs, à savoir l'inclusion financière et l'agro-industrie, l'accès à une énergie propre, les soins de santé et l'éducation. D’une manière plus spécifique le fonds examine les domaines dans lesquels des technologies innovantes peuvent ouvrir la voie à de nouvelles opportunités d’investissements et améliorer l'accès, l'accessibilité financière et la durabilité des produits et services essentiels pour les communautés à revenu faible et intermédiaire des marchés en développement.

BLOC Smart Africa investi de manière prioritaire dans des entreprises ayant une présence opérationnelle en Afrique sans toutefois exclure la possibilité d'investir dans d'autres zones géographiques dans des solutions ou des technologies qui soient également applicables en Afrique.

LuxDev est responsable de la gestion financière de la contribution du Luxembourg au fonds ainsi que du suivi de son investissement. A ce titre, LuxDev représente le gouvernement luxembourgeois au sein du comité consultatif du sous-fonds qui est en charge de conseiller le conseil d’administration du fonds sur leur politique d'investissement.