Intranet access
Connect with Google Log in
Or

If you don't have a LuxDev email account




I forgot my password

Help

Republic of Mali

Mali is a large country, two-thirds covered by desert areas, which shares borders with seven other countries. The country suffers from many geographical handicaps: landlocked and strongly dependent on climate variations, (drought, locust infestation, desertification and deforestation), inadequate infrastructure and lack of clean water.

Three-quarters of Mali’s population lives in a rural environment, as compared with 27% in an urban environment. Approximately 80% of the workforce works in the agriculture or fisheries sector. Mali is cross-roads of civilisations with its many ethnic and linguistic groups, each constituting a source of cultural wealth. A secular country under its constitution, Mali is characterised by the peaceful coexistence of monotheistic religions and traditional cultures. The religions practised are Islam, Christianity and animism.

Mali’s population is very young, with half of Malians aged under 15 (47%). As a result, there is a strong pressure in relation to job creation and migration, in a context of worsening conditions on the labour market. Growing urbanisation is encouraging political and administrative decentralisation.

A country which has historically had some major migrations internally, within Africa and internationally, Mali is a country with a strong tradition of emigration. All the regions in Mali are areas from which emigration takes place. The diaspora of Malians abroad represents nearly four million people, which is a quarter of the population. African countries are still the main destinations, with 32% living in Ivory Coast and roughly 1 million in the Economic Community of West African States, followed by the European Union (500 000 Malians). In terms of financial support for the development of the country (nearly 300 billion FCFA per year, i.e. 457 million EUR per year), migration is on such a large scale that a Ministry for Malians Abroad has been created in order to recuperate investments, added skills and relations and to manage the reintegration of Malian nationals returning to the country.

The Malian economy is based primarily on four sectors: cotton, rice farming, and gold mining. Therefore, the country is dependent on world prices for cotton and gold. From the point of view of external financing, the country depends heavily on foreign aid and remittances from emigrants.

Mali has been going through a period of great instability and conflict since the military coup of 2012 and the occupation of the north by armed groups. The whole of northern Mali fell to the Tuareg rebels of the Mouvement National de Libération de l'Azawad (MNLA) and then to the Islamist group Ansar Dine (Defenders of Islam) and the Movement for Unity and Jihad in West Africa (Mujao), allies of Al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb. The United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilisation Mission in Mali (MINUSMA) has been active since July 2014

In August 2020, Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, president since 2013 and re-elected in 2018, was overthrown by a military coup, after several weeks of demonstrations. Bah N'Daw became president of the transitional government and a National Transitional Council, acting as the National Assembly, was set up.

Eight months later, in May 2021, during a new military coup, Bah N'Daw was arrested and had to give up power under pressure from the army. Since then, the military Assimi Goïta has officially taken over the leadership of Mali.

Theoretically, presidential and legislative elections are scheduled for the end of February 2022. On that date, the transition should also end.

Evolution of activities in Mali (in thousand EUR)

Distribution of the 2021 disbursements by sector

All projects in Mali

Accédez à l'intranet
Connect with Google
Ou

Si vous n'avez pas de compte Mail LuxDev




J'ai oublié mon mot de passe

Aide

République du Mali

Le Mali est un grand pays couvert pour les deux tiers par des zones désertiques, partageant ses frontières avec sept pays. Le pays souffre de beaucoup de handicaps géographiques : enclavé et fortement dépendant des variations climatiques, (sécheresses, invasion acridienne, désertification, déforestation), infrastructures insuffisantes, pénurie d’eau potable.

Les trois quarts de la population malienne vivent en milieu rural, contre 36,22 % en milieu urbain. Environ 80 % de la population active travaille dans le secteur agricole ou piscicole. Le Mali est un carrefour de civilisations avec ses nombreux groupes ethniques et linguistiques constituant chacun une source de richesses culturelles. Pays laïc de par sa Constitution, le Mali est caractérisé par la coexistence pacifique des religions monothéistes et des cultures traditionnelles. Les religions pratiquées sont l’islam, le christianisme et l’animisme.

La population malienne est très jeune, la moitié des Maliens ayant moins de 15 ans (47 %), il en résulte une forte pression, en matière de création d’emploi et de migration, dans un contexte de dégradation du marché du travail. L’urbanisation croissante encourage la décentralisation politique et administrative.

Pays d’anciennes et d’intenses migrations internes, africaines et internationales, carrefour des civilisations, le Mali est un pays de forte tradition d’émigration. Toutes les régions du Mali constituent des zones d’émigration. La diaspora des Maliens de l’extérieur compte près de 2 millions de personnes, soit 1⁄8e de la population. Les principales destinations demeurent les pays africains avec 32 % vivant en Côte d’Ivoire et environ 1 million dans la CEDEAO, suivis de l’UE (500 000 Maliens). En termes d’apport financier au développement du pays (près de 300 milliards FCFA/an, soit 457 millions EUR/an), la migration a une ampleur telle qu’un ministère des Maliens de l’extérieur a été créé afin de récupérer les investissements, les compétences enrichies et les relations et afin d’encadrer la réinsertion des ressortissants retournant au Mali.

L’économie malienne repose essentiellement sur quatre filières : le coton, le riz, l’élevage, et l’extraction d’or. Dès lors le pays est tributaire des prix mondiaux du coton et de l’or. Du point de vue des financements extérieurs, le pays dépend fortement de l’aide extérieure et les transferts de fonds des émigrés maliens sont importants.

Un coup d'État militaire a renversé le gouvernement en mars 2012 et l’ensemble du nord du Mali est tombé aux mains des rebelles touaregs du Mouvement national de Libération de l’Azawad (MNLA) et ensuite au groupe islamiste Ansar Dine (Défenseurs de l’islam) ainsi que le Mouvement pour l’unicité et le jihad en Afrique de l’Ouest (Mujao), alliés d’Al-Qaïda au Maghreb islamique. Une Mission multidimensionnelle intégrée des Nations unies pour la stabilisation du Mali (MINUSMA) est intervenue pour reprendre le contrôle du Nord Mali fin 2012 et des élections présidentielles ont pu avoir lieu en juillet 2013.

Évolutions des activités au Mali (en milliers EUR)

Distribution des déboursements par secteur en 2017

Tous nos projets au Mali