Intranet access
Connect with Google
Or

If you don't have a LuxDev email account




I forgot my password

Help

Our activities

LuxDev works in 14 countries on four continents. The bulk of its activity is concentrated on the nine official partner countries of the Luxembourg ODA, as defined by the Government of the Grand Duchy. Apart from Africa (Cabo Verde, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger and Senegal), the Agency is also active in Latin America (Nicaragua and El Salvador) and South-East Asia (Laos and Vietnam).

The ODA with these privileged partner countries is managed via an Indicative Cooperation Programme (ICP), which is adopted by the governments of Luxembourg and the respective partner countries. The ICP is a multi-annual programme which identifies key areas of Development Cooperation (sectors, geographic areas, modalities) and multi-year budgets allocated to development programmes. It shows the long-term commitment that binds the Luxembourg Development Cooperation with its partner countries. In every partner country, the Agency is represented by a Regional Office which shares its premises with the official Luxembourg diplomatic missions.

Besides the privileged partner countries, Luxembourg Development Cooperation also operates in so-called project-countries in South-East Europe (Kosovo) and Asia (Mongolia and Myanmar).

Evaluation

Evaluation is a tool for continuous improvement, for efficient Development Cooperation as well as increased transparency and mutual accountability. LuxDev’s evaluation policy is based on the guiding principles and criteria for evaluation of the Development Assistance Committee (DAC) of the OECD and derived from the official evaluation strategy of the Luxembourg Development Cooperation.

Evaluation: The systematic and objective assessment of an on-going or completed project, programme or policy, its design, implementation and results. The aim is to determine the relevance and fulfilment of objectives, development efficiency, effectiveness, impact and sustainability. An evaluation should provide information that is credible and useful, enabling the incorporation of lessons learned into the decision–making process of both recipients and donors.

Source: OECD / DAC: Glossary of key terms in evaluation and results based management

LuxDev systematically performs internal and independent mid-term and final evaluations of all its projects and programmes.

The evaluations are driven by the Evaluations and Knowledge Management Department, which reports to the Expertise and Quality directorate

LuxDev systematically recruits consultants and pays particular attention to the use of local expertise in the evaluation teams. The impartiality and independence of these evaluations facilitate the dissemination and use of lessons learned within the Agency.

The evaluation exercise is a privileged moment of partnership, exchange and learning between all stakeholders of an intervention. The involvement of the counterpart contributes to capacity building in the field of evaluation in the partner countries.

Evaluation summary reports are systematically published on the LuxDev website.

Other activities

In addition to Development Cooperation projects commissioned by the Luxembourg Government, our core activity, we also carry out projects on behalf of the European Commission and other bilateral development donors.

Current EC co-funded projects include the Nicaragua Support to local economic development via the Tourism sector "Route of the Colonial Cities and the Volcanoes" under DCI instrument (7 million EUR) and the Niger Support to the National Professional and Technical Training Programme under EDF instrument (26.4 million EUR of which 3.5 million EUR from EDF). Recently, we have also been mandated to implement the project: Rapid Support for the Malian Authorities and Essential Social Services in Post-Conflict Areas under IfS (Instrument for stability) (5 million EUR) and another project in Niger for the Swiss Development Cooperation: Support to the Decennial Programme for Education Development in Dosso.

In our role as Financier within the framework of the EU-Africa Infrastructure Trust Fund, since 2011 we have taken the lead on two projects in the ICT sector: the African Internet Exchange System (AXIS) and the Satellite-Enhanced Telemedicine and eHealth for Sub-Saharan Africa (eHSA). Both projects are co-financed by the ITF and the Luxembourg Government.

Geographical areas

Sectors

  • Local Development
    • Agriculture & Food Security
    • Decentralisation & Local Governance
    • Natural Resources Management
    • Water & Sanitation
  • Education - Vocational Training & Access to Employment
    • Basic Education & Literacy
    • Vocational Training & Access to Employment
  • Health
  • Microfinance and Finance
  • Renewable Energies
  • Various

Some of our projects / programmes

Accédez à l'intranet
Connect with Google
Ou

Si vous n'avez pas de compte Mail LuxDev




J'ai oublié mon mot de passe

Aide

Nos activités

LuxDev travaille dans 14 pays répartis sur quatre continents. L'essentiel de ses activités est concentré sur les neuf pays partenaires de la Coopération luxembourgeoise, définis par le Gouvernement du Grand-Duché. À part en Afrique (Cabo Verde, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger et le Sénégal), ces pays sont situés en Amérique latine (Nicaragua et  El Salvador) ainsi qu'en Asie du Sud-Est (Laos et Vietnam).

Pour chacun des pays partenaires, un Programme indicatif de Coopération (PIC) est adopté par les gouvernements du Luxembourg et du pays partenaire. Le PIC constitue un programme pluriannuel qui définit les grands axes de coopération (secteurs, zones géographiques, modalités d'intervention) et le budget pluriannuel indicatif réservé au programme. Il traduit l'engagement à long terme qui lie la Coopération luxembourgeoise à ces pays. Dans chaque pays partenaire, l'Agence est représentée par un Bureau régional qui partage ses locaux avec les missions diplomatiques officielles du Luxembourg.

À côté des pays partenaires privilégiés, la Coopération luxembourgeoise a des relations avec d'autres pays en Europe du Sud-Est (Kosovo) et en Asie (Mongolie et Myanmar).

Évaluation

L’évaluation est un outil d’amélioration continue, d’efficacité de la Coopération au Développement ainsi que de renforcement de la transparence et de la redevabilité réciproque.

La politique d'évaluation de LuxDev se base sur les principes directeurs et les critères d'évaluation du Comité d'Aide au Développement (CAD) de l'OCDE et est une déclinaison de la Stratégie Évaluations de la Coopération luxembourgeoise.

Évaluation : Appréciation systématique et objective d'un projet, d'un programme ou d'une politique, en cours ou terminé, de sa conception, de sa mise en œuvre et de ses résultats. Le but est de déterminer la pertinence et l'accomplissement des objectifs, l'efficience en matière de développement, l'efficacité, l'impact et la durabilité. Une évaluation devrait fournir des informations crédibles et utiles permettant d'intégrer les leçons de l'expérience dans le processus de décision des bénéficiaires et des bailleurs de fonds.

Source : CAD - OCDE - Glossaire des principaux termes relatifs à l'évaluation et la gestion axée sur les résultats 

LuxDev fait réaliser systématiquement des évaluations internes et indépendantes à mi-parcours et en fin d’intervention de tous les projets et programmes.

Les évaluations sont pilotées par le Département Évaluations et Gestion des Connaissances qui fait partie de la Direction Expertise et Qualité.

LuxDev a systématiquement recours à des consultants et/ou des bureaux d’études et veille en particulier à utiliser l’expertise locale au sein des équipes d’évaluation L’impartialité et l’indépendance des évaluations facilitent la diffusion et l’utilisation des leçons apprises au sein de l’Agence.

L’exercice d’évaluation est un moment privilégié de partenariat, d’échange et d’apprentissage entre toutes les parties prenantes d’une intervention. L’implication des contreparties contribue au renforcement des capacités en matière d’évaluation dans les pays partenaires.

Les résumés des évaluations sont systématiquement publiés sur le site internet de LuxDev.

Activités pour compte de tiers

Outre les projets de Coopération au Développement sous mandat du Gouvernement luxembourgeois, LuxDev met également en œuvre des interventions pour le compte de la Commission européenne et d'autres bailleurs bilatéraux.

Parmi les projets financés par la Commission européenne, on peut citer le projet d’appui au développement économique local par le biais du secteur touristique au Nicaragua "Route des Villes coloniales et des Volcans" (ICD, 7 millions EUR) et le projet d’Appui au Programme national de Formation professionnelle et technique au Niger (26,4 millions EUR dont 3,5 millions EUR du FED). Récemment, nous avons aussi été mandaté pour le Soutien rapide aux Autorités maliennes et aux Services sociaux essentiels dans le Nord du Pays sous l'Instrument de Stabilité de l'UE (5 millions EUR) et au Niger pour l'Appui à l’Amélioration de la Qualité de la Formation initiale et continue des Enseignants dans la Région de Dosso (Coopération suisse).

En tant que Lead financier du Fonds fiduciaire pour les Infrastructures en Afrique (FFI), l’Agence est responsable depuis 2011 de la réalisation de deux projets dans le secteur des TIC : African Internet Exchange System (AXIS) et Satellite-Enhanced Telemedicine and eHealth for Sub-Saharan Africa (eHSA). Ces deux projets sont co-financés par le FFI et le Gouvernement luxembourgeois.

Zones géographiques

Secteurs

  • Développement local
    • Agriculture et Sécurité alimentaire
    • Décentralisation et Gouvernance locale
    • Eau et Assainissement
    • Gestion des Ressources naturelles
  • Divers
  • Éducation - Formation et Insertion professionnelles
    • Enseignement de Base et Alphabétisation
    • Formation et Insertion professionnelles
  • Énergies renouvelables
  • Microfinance et Secteurs financiers
  • Santé

Quelques uns de nos projets / programmes