Intranet access
Connect with Google Log in
Or

If you don't have a LuxDev email account




I forgot my password

Help

MAE/017
Support to the hospital and the Panzi Foundation

Information

Geographical area
Luxembourg

Sector
Health

Implementation period
April 2021 - March 2024
Total duration
36 months

Total budget
5,000,000 EUR
Contribution breakdown
  • Luxembourg Government
    5,000,000 EUR

This project was designed to support the implementation and strengthening of the care model for victims of sexual violence set up by Dr. Mukwege, Nobel Peace Prize 2018. Dr. Mukwege launched this initiative in response to extreme violence and widespread rape resulting from successive wars and persistent instability, of which women and children are victims in the province of South Kivu in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The project covers the Panzi General Referral Hospital, specialized in several areas including the treatment of survivors of sexual violence and safe deliveries, as well as the Panzi Foundation, which links women to other social services to complement the work of the Panzi Hospital on the socioeconomic reintegration of women.

The Panzi Hospital faces various constraints keeping it from fully fulfilling its mission. For one, it does not currently have adequate equipment to take care of all its patients. The inadequacy and dilapidated nature of some of its buildings, but also the lack of suitable technical infrastructure and substantial overcrowding in in-patient care complicate the work of the nursing staff. Moreover, sanitary facilities and plumbing are insufficient and deteriorated. The specific objective of the project is to strengthen the support programme for victims of sexual violence at the Panzi Hospital and at the Panzi Foundation in order to improve the access of vulnerable populations to quality client-focused services beneficiaries by:

  • improving access to referral health services at the Panzi Hospital by rehabilitating / extending and equipping some of its key areas, in particular those intended for victims of sexual violence, women with complex urogenital pathologies, and mothers with children;
  • improving access to socioeconomic reintegration services through the Panzi Foundation by strengthening the role of mutual societies (MUSO) and support around housing, agro-pastoral activities, and agro-food processing, as well as training in carpentry;
  • improving access to the Foundation's legal and judicial services (with a particular emphasis on victims and survivors of sexual violence) by building and equipping two legal clinics and supporting children’s access to land and civil registration;
  • improving capacity building for the steering, coordination and management of the holistic Panzi programme as part of a participatory and inclusive process.

In its overall strategy, the project aims to contribute to the prevention and elimination of gender-based violence as well as to the care of victims and survivors of sexual violence in the province of South Kivu and the Ibanda health district in order to improve their health and living conditions and promoting their socio-economic reintegration.

The project’s entire intervention strategy prioritizes the cross-cutting theme of gender (equality between men and women) and, when necessary, will also contribute to the environmental theme.

The project is funded by the Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign Affairs and will be implemented in collaboration with the Luxembourg Red Cross.

Accédez à l'intranet
Connect with Google Connexion
Ou

Si vous n'avez pas de compte Mail LuxDev




J'ai oublié mon mot de passe

Aide

MAE/017
Appui à l’hôpital et à la Fondation Panzi

Information

Zone géographique
Luxembourg

Secteur
Santé

Période d'exécution
Avril 2021 - Mars 2024
Durée totale
36 mois

Budget total
5 000 000 EUR
Répartition des contributions
  • Gouvernement luxembourgeois
    5 000 000 EUR

Ce projet a été conçu pour appuyer le modèle de prise en charge des victimes de violences sexuelles, mis en place par le Dr. Mukwege, Prix Nobel de la Paix 2018, en réponse à l’extrême violence et aux viols généralisés, découlant des guerres successives et de l’instabilité persistante, dont sont victimes les femmes et les enfants dans la province du Sud-Kivu en République Démocratique du Congo. L’appui offert par le projet couvre à la fois l’Hôpital général de référence de Panzi, spécialisé dans plusieurs domaines dont le traitement des survivantes de violences sexuelles et les accouchements sécurisés, et la Fondation Panzi qui fait le relai et permet de compléter le travail de l’Hôpital de Panzi vers une réinsertion socioéconomique des femmes.

Confronté à différentes contraintes pour remplir pleinement ses missions, l’Hôpital de Panzi ne dispose actuellement pas d’équipement adéquate pour la prise en charge de tous ses patients. L’inadéquation et la vétusté de certains de ses bâtiments, mais aussi, le manque d’infrastructures techniques adaptées et une grande promiscuité en hospitalisation compliquent le travail du personnel soignant. Les installations sanitaires et les canalisations sont non seulement insuffisantes, mais également détériorées. L’objectif spécifique du projet est de renforcer le programme de prise en charge des victimes de violences sexuelles de l’hôpital et de la Fondation Panzi, en vue d’améliorer l’accès des populations vulnérables à des services de qualité centrés sur les bénéficiaires à travers :

  • l’amélioration de l'accès aux services de santé de référence à l'hôpital de Panzi par la réhabilitation / extension et l’équipement de certaines de ses infrastructures clé, en particulier celles destinées aux victimes de violences sexuelles, aux femmes avec des pathologies urogénitales complexes et au couple mère-enfant ;
  • l’amélioration de l’accès à la réinsertion socioéconomique à travers la Fondation Panzi par le renforcement du rôle des Mutuelles de solidarité (MUSO) et l’appui en matière de logement, activités agropastorales et de transformation agroalimentaire, ainsi que des formations en menuiserie ;
  • l’amélioration de l’accès aux services juridiques et judiciaires de la Fondation (avec un accent particulier sur les victimes et survivantes de violences sexuelles) par la construction et l’équipement de deux cliniques juridiques et l’appui à l’accès à la terre et l’enregistrement des enfants à l’état civil ;
  • le renforcement des capacités de pilotage, de coordination et de gestion du programme holistique de Panzi, dans le cadre d’un processus participatif et inclusif.

Dans sa globalité, le projet vise à contribuer à la prévention et à l’élimination des violences basées sur le genre ainsi qu’à la prise en charge des victimes et survivantes de violences sexuelles dans la province du Sud-Kivu et de la zone sanitaire d’Ibanda, en vue d’améliorer leur état de santé, leurs conditions de vie et de les accompagner dans une réinsertion socioéconomique.

L’ensemble de la stratégie d’intervention du projet cible de manière prioritaire la thématique transversale du genre (égalité hommes-femmes) et contribuera à celle de l’environnement à chaque fois que cela s’avèrera nécessaire.

Le projet est financé par le ministère des Affaires étrangères luxembourgeois et sera mis en œuvre en collaboration avec l’ONG Aide internationale de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise.