Intranet access
Connect with Google
Or

If you don't have a LuxDev email account




I forgot my password

Help

Republic of Nicaragua

With a surface area of 129,494 km2, Nicaragua is the largest country in Central America. It has two coastlines, the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Caribbean Sea to the east. Nicaragua has a tropical climate on the coastal plains, and a cooler climate in the mountainous regions in the north. The Pacific coast is bordered by a chain of volcanoes, some of which are still active. Nicaragua has two substantial freshwater reserves: lakes Cocibolca and Xolotlan. The country lies in an active tectonic zone, making it vulnerable to earthquakes, with the Caribbean coast exposed to hurricanes.

The population of Nicaragua has topped six million and, owing to the country’s geographic profile, a substantial proportion of the inhabitants is concentrated in the Pacific region. 60 % of the population lives in urban areas; it is also very diverse, and over 50 % of inhabitants are aged under 24.

Nicaragua was colonised by Spain in 1524 and won independence in 1821. After forming part of the United Provinces of Central America, it became a sovereign republic in 1854. Its history was marked from the beginning by military interventions by the United States, especially due to the potential for building a canal between the two oceans. The country has also been troubled by lengthy military dictatorships; the last, dominated by the Somoza family, ended in July 1979 with the symbolic victory of the revolution led by the FSLN (Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional).

After 1979 Nicaragua was led by the FSLN and its leader Daniel Ortega. The country experienced a difficult period with a US embargo and the internal war with the “Contra” financed by the United States. The elections in 1990 were won by Violeta Chamorro and paved the way to gradual stabilisation with free elections and political alternation. After 15 years in opposition, the FSLN returned to power in 2006. The next presidential elections will be held in November 2016.

Nicaragua is one of the poorest countries in Central America with a GDP of USD 1,904 per inhabitant in 2014. Agriculture, livestock, forestry and fishing account for 15% of GDP, trade 14.5% and manufacturing 13%. Beef, coffee, gold, sugar and peanuts represent 59% of total exports. Tourism is also an important source of foreign currency and accounts for 17% of exports. Approximately 9% of GDP is contributed by emigrants sending money back to their families.

Public spending on education represents 2.8 % of GDP and on health 3.2%.

Furthermore, the economy of Nicaragua relies heavily on the informal sector, which employs 75% of the workforce, many of whom have not had the opportunity to finish the six years of compulsory primary education.

This is one of the reasons why the development cooperation work between Luxembourg and Nicaragua focuses on training, professional integration and the promising tourism sector. This policy makes it possible to develop training programmes with the assurance that they meet the needs of workers and businesses, and to strengthen economic activities linked to tourism, which can be considered a tool for local development (both in urban areas and rural regions).

There is a high incidence of poverty in Nicaragua (42.5% of the population were living under the poverty line in 2009) and there are still considerable inequalities (in 2010 the richest 20% of the population held 51% of the country’s revenues, whilst the poorest 20% held only 4.6%).

Working with a partner from China, Nicaragua recently embarked on a major project to construct a trans-oceanic canal that intends to rival the Panama Canal. However, the plans are arousing a great deal of controversy and opposition: whilst some view the scheme as an engine for the national economy, others see it as a threat to biodiversity and national sovereignty.

Nicaragua has been a partner country of the Luxembourg Development Cooperation since the 1990s, and a General Cooperation Agreement was signed in 2000. The first ICP was developed in 2003, which gradually led to more structured interventions. On signing the second ICP in 2007, training and vocational integration, tourism and health were identified as focal sectors, and remain so to this day.

The year 2014 saw new programmes being identified and the negotiation of an amendment that provides for the extension of ICP III over a three-year period to ensure the transition to a joint programming method with the European Union from 2018.

Evolution of activities in Nicaragua (in thousand EUR)

Distribution of the 2014 disbursements by sector

All projects in Nicaragua

Projects in preparation in Nicaragua

Project Code Title Sectors Indicative Budget
NIC/028Support to Tourism Sector ProgrammeLocal Development3,875,147 EUR

Accédez à l'intranet
Connect with Google
Ou

Si vous n'avez pas de compte Mail LuxDev




J'ai oublié mon mot de passe

Aide

République du Nicaragua

Le Nicaragua est le plus grand pays d'Amérique centrale avec une superficie de 129 494 km2. Il dispose de deux côtes sur l’océan Pacifique à l’ouest et la mer des Caraïbes à l’est. Son climat est tropical dans les plaines côtières et plus frais dans les zones montagneuses du nord. La côte pacifique est longée par une chaîne de volcans dont certains sont en activité. Le Nicaragua compte deux importantes réserves d’eau douce, le lac Cocibolca et le lac Xolotlan. Le pays se situe sur une zone tectonique active ce qui le rend vulnérable aux tremblements de terre et la côte caraïbe est exposée aux ouragans.

La population du Nicaragua a dépassé la barre des 6 000 000 habitants et, en raison du profil géographique du pays, une proportion importante de la population est concentrée dans la zone pacifique du pays. 60 % de la population vit en milieu urbain. La population, très diversifiée, est constituée pour plus de la moitié par les jeunes de moins de 24 ans.

Le Nicaragua a été colonisé par l’Espagne en 1524 et a pris son indépendance en 1821. Après avoir fait partie des Provinces unies d’Amérique centrale, il est devenu une république souveraine en 1854. L'histoire de ses débuts été marquée par des interventions militaires des États-Unis, notamment en raison de la possibilité d'y creuser un canal entre les deux océans. Le pays a également été troublé par de longues périodes de dictature militaire dont la dernière, dominée par la famille Somoza, a pris fin en juillet 1979 avec la victoire emblématique de la révolution conduite par le FSLN (Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional).

Après 1979 le pays dirigé par le FSLN et son leader Daniel Ortega vit une époque difficile avec un embargo américain et la guerre interne avec « la Contra » financée par les États-Unis. Les élections de 1990 voient la victoire de Violeta Chamorro et ouvrent la voie à la stabilisation progressive du pays avec des élections libres et une alternance politique. Après 15 ans de passage dans l'opposition, le FSLN retrouve le pouvoir en 2006. Les prochaines élections présidentielles se tiendront en novembre 2016.

Le Nicaragua est un des pays les plus pauvres d’Amérique centrale avec un PIB de 1 904 USD/habitant en 2014. L'agriculture, l’élevage, la sylviculture et la pêche représentent 15 % du PIB et le commerce 14,5 %, suivi des industries manufacturières (13 %). La viande bovine, le café, l’or, le sucre et les arachides représentent 59% du total des exportations.  Le tourisme constitue également une importante source de devises et représente 17 % des exportations. Environ 9 % du PIB est apporté par les émigrés qui envoient de l'argent à leur famille.

Les dépenses publiques dans le secteur de l’éducation représentent 2,8 % du PIB et celles du secteur de la santé 3,2 %

Par ailleurs, l’économie du Nicaragua repose fortement sur le secteur informel qui emploie 75 % de la main d’œuvre, dont une grande partie a pas eu la possibilité de terminer les six années obligatoires d’enseignement primaire.

C'est une des raisons pour lesquelles les efforts de coopération entre le Luxembourg et le Nicaragua sont concentrés sur le secteur de la formation et de l'insertion professionnelles et sur le secteur porteur du tourisme. Ceci permet à la fois de développer des formations avec l'assurance que  celles-ci répondent bien aux besoins des travailleurs et des entreprises et de renforcer des activités économiques liées au tourisme qui est peut être considéré comme un outil de développement local, tant au niveau des zones urbaines que des régions rurales.

La pauvreté a une forte incidence au Nicaragua (en 2009 42,5 % de la population vivait sous le seuil de pauvreté) et les inégalités restent très importantes (en 2010 les 20 % les plus riches de la population occupaient 51 % des revenus du pays, tandis que les 20 % les plus pauvres n’en occupaient que 4,6 %).

Récemment, le pays s'est lancé avec un partenaire chinois dans un grand projet de construction d'un canal transocéanique qui devra concurrencer le canal de Panama. Ce projet suscite de nombreuses controverses et oppositions ; il est vu comme un moteur pour l'économie nationale par les uns ou  une menace pour la biodiversité et la souveraineté nationale par les autres.

Le Nicaragua est un pays partenaire de la Coopération luxembourgeoise depuis les années 1990 et   un Accord général de Coopération a été signé en 2000. Le premier PIC a été élaboré en 2003, ce qui a progressivement permis de mieux structurer les interventions. Dès la signature du deuxième PIC en 2007, les secteurs de la Formation et Insertion professionnelle, du Tourisme et de la Santé ont été identifiés comme secteurs de concentration et ils le sont resté encore aujourd'hui.

L'année 2014 a été marquée par l'identification de nouveaux programmes et la négociation d'un avenant qui prévoit l'extension du PIC III sur une période de trois ans en vue d'assurer la transition vers une modalité de programmation conjointe avec l'Union européenne à partir de 2018.

Évolutions des activités au Nicaragua (en milliers EUR)

Distribution des déboursements par secteur en 2019